EVN supports the UN Global Compact

EVN supports the UN Global Compact

In the course of expanding its international activities, in September 2005 EVN joined the UN Global Compact and thus committed itself to adherence to the global principles of ethical and ecological business conduct.

Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)

The Sustainable Development Goals are globally relevant objectives adopted by the United Nations (UN) in January 2016. The 17 global goals are subdivided into 169 sub-goals; their content builds on the UN Millennium Development Goals (MDGs).  This strategy is designed to resolve challenging environmental, economic and social issues such as climate change, inequality and poverty, by 2030. It is important that these challenges are met globally, by each state and its society as a whole.

As the SDGs are based on a process of participation, it follows that their implementation is also a common responsibility shared by governments, the private sector, science and the civil society. As an internationally active enterprise, EVN has been committed to the UN Global Compact and views the implementation of the SDGs as an opportunity to pursue economic goals and at the same time contribute to sustainable development.

EVN has analysed its Sustainability Areas of Action from the perspective of the Sustainable Development Goals. In the course of analysis, an investigation was also conducted to ascertain which elements of the CSR programme of EVN already contribute to reaching individual SDGs. The results of this analysis are shown in the table Areas of Action - SDG.

Among the goals, the focal areas supported by the EVN are safeguarding provision (SDG9) including water supply (SDG6), renewable energy sources (SDG7) and climate protection (SDG13) as well as energy efficiency (SDG12), with a variety of services provided to our customers. These goals also correspond to our main Areas of Action, which are regularly determined by our stakeholders.


Learn more about EVN‘s contribution to the Sustainable Development Goals from Stefan Syzoszkowitz, member of the Executive Board: (video in German) 

Downloads

Die EVN unterstützt den UN Global Compact

Die EVN unterstützt den UN Global Compact

Im Zuge ihrer Internationalisierung trat die EVN im September 2005 dem UN Global Compact bei. Damit verpflichtet sie sich zur Einhaltung globaler Prinzipien ethischen und ökologischen wirtschaftlichen Handelns.

Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)

Bei den Zielen für nachhaltige Entwicklung oder Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) handelt es sich um die globalen Ziele, die im Jänner 2016 von den United Nations (UN) beschlossen wurden. Diese 17 globalen Ziele sind in 169 Unterziele unterteilt und knüpfen inhaltlich an die UN Millenium Development Goals (MDGs) an. Ökologische, ökonomische und soziale Herausforderungen, wie beispielsweise Klimawandel, Ungleichheit und Armut sollen mittels dieser Strategie bis 2030 gelöst werden. Dabei ist es wichtig, dass die Herausforderungen global, gesamtstaatlich und gesamtgesellschaftlich angegangen werden.

Da die SDGs auf einem partizipativen Prozess basieren, ist auch ihre Umsetzung eine gemeinsame Verantwortung von Staaten, Privatsektor, Wissenschaft und Zivilgesellschaft. Als international tätiges Unternehmen bekennt sich die EVN seit 2005 zum UN Global Compact und sieht in der Umsetzung der SDGs die Chance, wirtschaftliche Ziele zu verfolgen und gleichzeitig zur nachhaltigen Entwicklung beizutragen.

Die EVN hat ihre Nachhaltigkeits-Handlungsfelder unter dem Blickwinkel der Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung analysiert. Dabei wurde auch erhoben, welche Elemente des CSR-Programms der EVN bereits einen konkreten Beitrag zur Erreichung einzelner dieser Ziele leisten. Die Ergebnisse dieser Analyse sind in der Handlungsfeld-SDG Tabelle dargestellt.

Als Schwerpunkte bei der Unterstützung der Ziele sieht die EVN die Themen Versorgungssicherheit (SDG9) inklusive der Wasserversorgung (SDG6), Erneuerbare Energie (SDG7) und Klimaschutz (SDG13) sowie Energieeffizienz (SDG12) mit einer Vielzahl an Dienstleistungen für unsere Kunden. Diese entsprechen auch unseren wesentlichen Handlungsfeldern, die regelmäßig durch unsere Stakeholder festgestellt werden.


Erfahren Sie hier von Vorstand Stefan Szyszkowitz mehr über den Beitrag der EVN zu den UN Zielen für nachhaltige Entwicklung:



Downloads