EVN supports the UN Global Compact

EVN supports the UN Global Compact

In the course of expanding its international activities, in September 2005 EVN joined the UN Global Compact and thus committed itself to adherence to the global principles of ethical and ecological business conduct.

 About the UN Global Compact

The UN Global Compact represents a worldwide voluntary scheme for companies based on an initiative of the United Nations and its former Secretary-General Kofi Annan.  At present, the UN Global Compact has more than 10,000 corporate participants (including 78 Austrian companies) from over 168 countries.

The Ten Principles and the 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) of the United Nations are at the heart of the UN Global Compact. Covering the areas of labour standards, human rights, environmental protection and the fight against corruption, the Ten Principles define the core demands of the international community represented in the United Nations regarding the sustainable governance of companies that takes into account the interests of all the stakeholders involved.

The Ten Principles contained in the UN Global Compact are based on a global consensus derived from the following declarations and conventions:

  1. The Universal Declaration of Human Rights adopted by the United Nations
  2. International Labour Organisation (ILO) Declaration on Fundamental Principles and Rights at Work
  3. The Rio Declaration on Environment and Development
  4. The United Nations Convention against Corruption

Organisations wishing to participate in the UN Global Compact are committed to implementing the universally valid Ten Principles and supporting the 17 Sustainable Development Goals.

EVN is proud to be a pioneer in the field of Corporate Social Responsibility in Austria. Already in 2002, we were among the first companies in Austria to publish a Sustainability Report; we became a participant of the UN Global Compact in September 2005. Since 2012, EVN has also been represented in the Steering Committee of the Austrian Global Compact Network. The aim of this committee is to operate the activities of the Austrian UNGC network.
 

Stefan Szyszkowitz, Spokesman of the EVN Executive Board, says: 

"EVN is an energy and environmental services company operating in Lower Austria as well as in 20 other countries in Europe. In particular, one of our priorities is security i.e. the security of the energy supply, along with the quality of how we provide energy but also water to our customers. The bottom line is that the reasonable and efficient handling of resources is the decisive factor. We accomplish this by continuously evaluating our processes, deploying new technologies and consulting with external stakeholders again and again on how we can do things a bit better.”


For further information go to www.unglobalcompact.org. With its Stolipinovo project, EVN was included in the collection of the Italian Yearbook of the UN Global Compact 2011 as best practice example from Austria. In 2012, EVN was presented with two more examples in the Best Practice Collection of the UN Global Compact.

Die EVN unterstützt den UN Global Compact

Die EVN unterstützt den UN Global Compact

Im Zuge ihrer Internationalisierung trat die EVN im September 2005 dem UN Global Compact bei. Damit verpflichtet sie sich zur Einhaltung globaler Prinzipien ethischen und ökologischen wirtschaftlichen Handelns.

Über den UN Global Compact

Der UN Global Compact ist eine auf Freiwilligkeit basierende weltweite Initiative für Unternehmen ausgehend von den Vereinten Nationen und dessen ehemaligen Generalsekretär Kofi Annan. Derzeit zählt diese Initiative über 10.000 Unternehmen (davon 78 in Österreich) in 168 Ländern.

Als zentrales Element des UN Global Compact gelten die 10 universellen Prinzipien und die Unterstützung der 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) der Vereinten Nationen. Die 10 Prinzipien beinhalten die Themen Arbeitsnormen, Menschenrechte, Umweltschutz und Korruptionsbekämpfung und definieren die zentralen Forderungen der in den Vereinten Nationen repräsentierten internationalen Gemeinschaft hinsichtlich einer nachhaltigen, auf die Interessen aller Stakeholder bedachten Unternehmensführung.

Die Zehn Prinzipien des UN Global Compact beruhen auf einem weltweiten Konsens, der sich aus folgenden Deklarationen und Konventionen ableiten lässt:

  1. Menschenrechtscharta der Vereinten Nationen
  2. Deklaration der International Labour Organization (ILO) über fundamentale Arbeitsrechte und -prinzipien
  3. Rio-Deklaration über Umwelt und Entwicklung
  4. Konvention der Vereinten Nationen gegen Korruption

Organisationen, die am UN Global Compact teilnehmen möchten, bekennen sich zur Durchsetzung der 10 universellen Prinzipien und zur Unterstützung der 17 Sustainable Development Goals.

Stolz ist die EVN darauf, ein österreichischer Vorreiter auf dem Gebiet der Corporate Social Responsibility zu sein. Bereits 2002 veröffentlichten wir als eines der ersten österreichischen Unternehmen einen Nachhaltigkeitsbericht und sind im September 2005 dem UN Global Compact beigetreten. Seit 2012 ist die EVN auch im Steering Committee des österreichischen Global Compact Netzwerkes vertreten. Ziel des Lenkungskreises ist die Steuerung der Aktivitäten des Österreichischen UNGC-Netzwerks.

Dazu Sprecher des Vorstands Mag. Stefan Szyszkowitz, MBA:
„EVN ist ein Energie- und Umweltdienstleister, tätig in Niederösterreich, aber auch in 20 anderen Ländern in Europa. Wir haben insbesondere einen Schwerpunkt in der Sicherheit – der Versorgungssicherheit – und in der Qualität der Versorgung unserer Kunden mit Energie, aber auch mit Wasser. Unter dem Strich ist aber der vernünftige, der effiziente Umgang mit den Ressourcen das Entscheidende. Wir tun dies, indem wir immer wieder unsere Prozesse überprüfen, neue Technologien einsetzen und uns auch immer wieder mit den externen Stakeholdern beraten, wie wir Dinge besser machen können.“

Weitere Informationen über den UN Global Compact finden Sie unter www.unglobalcompact.org. Die EVN ist mit dem Fallbeispiel "Stolipinovo" im italienischen Jahrbuch des UN Global Compact für 2011 als österreichisches Beispiel vertreten. Im Jahr 2012 ist die EVN mit zwei weiteren Beispielen in der "Best Practice Collection" des UN Global Compact 2012 enthalten.